About Our Museum and Society

About Franklin County Historical Society

We are a non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation of Franklin County’s past. The Society has been collecting artifacts and information that tell the history of Franklin County since its inception in 1968. Countless volunteer and staff hours have been spent working to increase the public knowledge of our local history.

In 1983, after over two years of painstaking renovation, the Society moved into the former Carnegie Library, which originally opened in 1911. Exhibits feature Native American artifacts, information on Lewis & Clark’s Corps of Discovery, railroad development, agriculture, irrigation, area ferries and bridges, aviation and health care, as well as a wealth of local artifacts and photos.

Our Mission

The Franklin County Historical Society shall preserve and promote the history of Franklin County through educational publications, programs, and the operation of the Franklin County Museum.

Board of Directors

Glen Allison


Doc Hastings

Vice President

Keith Snider


Lamar Palmer


Lara Hastings

Immediate Past President

Linda Adkinson

Board Member

Marilynn Baker

Board Member

Don Bell

Board Member

Alan Bacon

Board Member

Dan Dotta

Board Member

Nick Lippold

Board Member

Jeannie Hailey

Board Member

Jim Rabideau

Trustees Emeritus

Gracie Cooper

Trustees Emeritus

Rick Venable

Trustees Emeritus

Anne Hayden-Ray

Trustees Emeritus

Jay Hendler

Board Member

John Morgan

Board Member

Larry Bafus

Trustees Emeritus

Kim Neff

Member at large